One Nation fragmented by British

The Zomi inhabited areas extend between 92°-95° E (Longitude) and 20°-25° N (Latitude). The whole area is roughly about 91,000 sq miles. The British officials called the country, “the Chin-Lushai Tract of Land.” Until the advent of the British, there had never been foreign domination. There never was an intrusion either from the Indian Rajahs or from the Burmese Kings, who all through the ages maintained a ‘Laissez-fare policy,’ and leaving the Zomi to rule themselves.

In Zo country, the ablest, among the kings or chiefs used to reign over the land from centres like Khampat, Kalemyo, where some historical evidences are still visible in caves, earthworks and others.

The British came in contact with the Zomi in 1777 A.D, and could subjugate them only in 1890 after the Chin-Lushai Expedition of 1888-1890. Three expeditionary columns, one each from Assam (India), Bengal (then East Pakistan) and Burma took over the administrative control of each respective sector thus trisecting the Zo country and the people. As for the Zomi in Manipur-Burma border, they were further fragmented as a result of the Treaty of Yandaboo, 1826 and another treaty signed by Capt Pemberton and the King of Ava in 1834. Before these fateful divisions, the Zo country had never subdued, divided or ruled by any foreign power.



For general information about the website/organisation, please contact us at:

  • info(@)
  • Zogam